Don’t Drop the Plus from ‘Plus Size’

It should’t be about the ‘plus’, it should be about the way you look at yourself.

So it seems I’ve been out of the loop really on this whole #droptheplus debacle. However as I’m now up on what’s been happening I thought I would give my take on it.

‘Drop The Plus’ is a campaign started by model, Stefania Ferrario, and author, Ajay Rochester, to ditch the term ‘plus size model’ in order to be refer to them as ‘just models’. They are upset because anything above a UK size 8 is considered as ‘plus size’ in the cruel world of modelling. This has then transpired into it’s supporter wanting to ‘drop the plus’ in fashion retail stores too.

drop-the-plus-size-and-just-celebrate-beauty-1427706031
Stefania Ferrario, UK size 14, ‘plus size’ model.
I, as a plus size woman, agree that anything above a UK size 8 being regarded as ‘plus size’ is absolutely ridiculous. In no way should they be forced into a category that does not fit them. What is even the point of calling them plus size anyway? Really? A size 10 and size 20 would not necessarily have the same shape, so a size 10 model wouldn’t actually be representative of ‘plus size’ women. Come ooooon.

However, there is part of me that thinks… ‘hunny, you’re in the modelling industry… What do you expect?’ You have chosen a career that requires you to be so perfect, beautiful and to some degree, flawless. Don’t you think you are going to get scrutinised until you are the best you can possibly be? And that’s not just in looks or body image – I mean in technique to your profession as well. I mean I’m a size 16 woman that get’s called beautiful by her boyfriend everyday, but that doesn’t mean I could whack on some high heels and give a perfect photo finish every time. You should see how many times it’s takes me to get a good angle for a profile picture let alone a plus size ad campaign!

I get it, size 14 curvy gorgeous models shouldn’t be branded as overweight, fat or unworthy by their peers or the media because they aren’t really. I mean look a Stefania Ferrario… a flat stomach, big boobs and perfect curves? Yeah you definitely know what it’s like to be a plus size woman with rolls, chub rub and not being able to find a single shoe store that can accommodate to your wide 9 flippers.

‘Drop the plus’ seems to promote loving your curves and embracing your body, however when you’re faced with a body as ‘perfect’ as Stefania’s it makes me question whether this social media frenzy is actually doing more harm than good. In one picture I’ve seen her holding a card that says ‘love your curves.’ A little overweight girl struggling with body issues would love her curves everyday if they looked like Stefania!

kourtney-kardashian-taco-up-her-buttOk, yeah I know. Stefania has probably struggled with her body image before so I shouldn’t judge her. She just wants every plus size woman to embrace themselves and love themselves and be happy as they are. But oh wait, hang on a minute… Isn’t she neglecting the plus size community herself? By wanting to be called ‘just a model’ and not wanting to be seen as plus size. So isn’t she kind of being hypocritical?

The campaign also argues that the word ‘plus’ implies that you are bigger than normal, above average or large. In fact the average dress size of a woman in the UK is a size 16 – which is a ‘plus size’ size. I can understand why this is a problem… but most high street stores I can think of have size 16 and above in their ‘normal sections’.

Saying that, I’ve seen so many tweets with the #droptheplus from woman who want it to be removed because they are embarrassed when seen in plus size sections or stores. I find this deeply saddening. Why should you feel embarrassed? Surely you can’t be ignorant to the fact you are a plus size woman otherwise you’d be squeezing clothes from Topshop or Miss Selfridge. I can see their point though. Plus size clothes used to be terrible Gran-wear that you could only pull off if you had dentures and 14 cats. However, with the fresh style of Evans, Yours and Simply Be, came change in the fashion we could wear. It was up to date, it was on trend and it fit so well!

PARTY-ON_02
(left to right) Plus Size Bloggers – Georgina Horne, Danielle Vanier and Callie Thorpe.
Plus Size Bloggers also helped me to overcome my body struggles. They taught me I shouldn’t be offended by my weight, shape or size. As long as I am happy and healthy I should embrace the fact I am plus size. I follow people that embrace themselves and that’s what drives me to embrace myself. They’re not scared to called themselves fat or overweight and neither am I. As Georgina Horne once said ‘who cares? ‘Plus size’ is only a label.’ And she’s right! You shouldn’t be disheartened by a the label stitched into your clothes. IT’S JUST A LABEL!

Stop letting the media rule the way you feel. Stop reading trashy magazines that are written by vultures that treat women like a piece meat. Stop watching This Morning when Katie Hopkins is going on a mad one about issues she doesn’t even understand. Stop searching for Twitter sites about dieting tips and toned bodies. Stop letting others feel like calling you fat or chubby is an easy way to hurt you. Stop looking at yourself as plus size and disgusting and look at yourself as plus size and beautiful. Because you are beautiful, I promise.

Love ya, x

Leave a comment